Public Document Pack

Scrutiny & Overview Committee

Meeting held on Wednesday, 17 May 2023 at 8.35pm in F9, Town Hall, Katharine Street, Croydon CR0 1NX

MINUTES

- **Present:** Councillors Rowenna Davis (Chair), Richard Chatterjee (Vice-Chair), Leila Ben-Hassel (Deputy-Chair), Simon Fox, Joseph Lee (reserve for Jade Appleton) and Eunice O'Dame
- Apologies: Councillor Jade Appleton

PART A

27/23 Appointments to Scrutiny and Overview Sub-Committees

The Committee considered a report in the agenda along with appendix 1 in the supplement, which set out the proposed membership of the three Scrutiny Sub-Committees, namely the Children & Young People Sub-Committee, Health & Social Care Sub-Committee and the Streets, Environment & Homes Sub-Committee. The Committee was asked to determine these appointments.

The allocation of the Chair and Vice-Chair roles, as set out in the appendix 1 was queried, with it suggested that there should be a more even allocation of these roles between the Conservative and Labour groups to better reflect the overall political balance of the Council. It was noted that resolving this issue would require further consultation with the political groups and as such could not be resolved at the meeting.

It was agreed that the Committee would resolve the appointments as set out in appendix 1, to not unduly delay the work of the Sub-Committees. This was agreed on the understanding that there would be further discussions on the allocation of Chair and Vice-Chair roles for all Sub-Committees. Any changes required as a result of these discussions would be presented for agreement at the Scrutiny & Overview Committee meeting on 6 June 2023 meeting, as part of the report to re-establish the Homes Sub-Committee.

Resolved: That the membership for the three Scrutiny Sub-Committees is agreed as set out below.

A. SCRUTINY CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE SUB-COMMITTEE		
(Membership 13 - 8 Members and 5 Co-optees (1 non-voting))		
	Conservative Group Members to be	
appointed: 4	appointed: 4	
1. Maddie Henson (Vice-Chair)	1. Richard Chatterjee (Chair)	
2. Mike Bonello	2. Holly Ramsey	
3. Manju Shahul-Hameed	3. Mark Johnson	
4. Catherine Wilson	4. Helen Redfern	

RESERVE MEMBERS	
1. Amy Foster	1. Adele Benson
2. Tamar Barrett	2. Samir Dwesar
3. Patricia Hay-Justice	3. Luke Shortland
	4. Fatima Zaman
CO-OPTEES	
1. Voting Governor Rep	(Vacant)
2. Voting Governor Rep	Paul O'Donnell
3. Voting Diocesan Rep	Elaine Jones (Catholic Diocese)
4. Voting Diocesan Rep	(Vacant) (Anglican Diocese)
5. Non-voting Teachers Rep	Josephine Copeland

B. SCRUTINY HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE SUB-COMMITTEE

(Membership 8 - 6 Members and 2 Co-optee (non-voting))		
Labour Group Members to be	Conservative Group Members to be	
appointed: 3	appointed: 3	
1. Eunice O'Dame (Chair)	1. Adele Benson	
2. Ellily Ponnuthurai (Vice-Chair)	2. Holly Ramsey	
3. Patsy Cummings	3. Robert Ward	
RESERVE MEMBERS		
1. Sherwan Chowdhury	1. Sue Bennett	
2. Sean Fitzsimons	2. Mark Johnson	
3. Manju Shahul-Hameed	3. Helen Redfern	
CO-OPTEE (non-voting)		
1. Gordon Kay (Healthwatch Croydon)		
2. Yusuf Osman (Social Services Users Representative)		

C. SCRUTINY STREETS, ENVIRONMENT AND HOMES SUB-**COMMITTEE** (Membership 7) Labour Group Members Conservative Group Members to be to be appointed: 4 appointed: 3 1. Kola Agboola 1. Danielle Denton 2. Leila Ben Hassel 2. Gayle Gander 3. Luke Shortland 3. Louis Carserides **4.** Sherwan Chowdhury **RESERVE MEMBERS** 1. Nina Degrads 1. Adele Benson 2. Mohammed Islam 2. Samir Dwesar 3. Stella Nabukeera 3. Simon Fox

Signed:	
Date:	

This page is intentionally left blank